We're making incremental steps towards providing extended functionality in the areas of team planning and workflow management. We've started labeling the stages of your workflow to be more descriptive for what we offer today, while making the way for what we plan to offer in the future.

The Inbox Section: You'll notice the first column, labeled by default as Backlog, is now categorized as "Inbox." All new issues without column labels go here. We envision this to be the column at the leftmost side of your board where new cards land prior to triage. Today you can collapse any columns after the inbox that are used for backlogging or planning purposes. Later down the road, we'll explore what it looks like to plan your work in a view meant for managing and prioritizing your team's work.

The Progress Section: Once a card is out of the inbox, you're making some kind of progress on it. Whether you've moved it to a prioritized Backlog column, moved it in the Ideas stage to be revisited (see our board), or move it directly into In Progress, you've done some amount of work on it.

The Done Section: As always, your Done column is the column that closes issues. We now enforce that this column is your rightmost column. This makes room for us to add additional columns to the right, once we support the ability to track closed issues one step further, through deployment.

The Done column empties issues after 7 days of inactivity on the issue. To bring issues back to the board, you can update them from within GitHub.

(note: all columns must have a label unless they're an Inbox or Done column)

You can manually drag and drop issues to any column on the board. When you drag an issue to a different column, that column's label will be added to the issue and the previous column label will be removed. The column labels are not visible on the card but you will see them on the issue in GitHub.

Did this answer your question?